Closed fire season extended in 11 Utah counties

Closed fire season extended in 11 Utah counties

November 14, 2019

State wildfire officials have recommended an extension of the “closed fire season” for several counties.

This is due to dry conditions and continued wildfire control problems in areas of Juab, Millard, Piute, Sanpete, Sevier, Wayne, Beaver, Iron, Washington, Garfield, and Kane counties, according to fire officials.

The state’s annual closure which normally goes from June 30 to October 31, according to fire officials will instead extend until Saturday, November 30, 2019, at 11:59 p.m.

Until that time fire officials say debris burning in the unincorporated areas of those eleven counties are not allowed without a permit.

State Forester, Brian Cottam signed the extension proclamations earlier this week.

Read the full article.