Salida, CO. Photo: Grace Mirzeler. 

Established in 2023, with the permission and support of the Council of Western State Foresters (CWSF), the Forest Stewardship Program/Landowner Assistance Committee (FSP/LOA) provides a structure for ongoing communication and collaboration between western states, the USDA Forest Service, and forestry partners. 

The FSP/LOA Committee serves as a forum to share information, cooperate on program delivery, and advance private lands forest stewardship in the West and creates opportunities to leverage and share resources, expand the transfer of technology, and cooperate on shared goals and initiatives, including multi-state competitive grant applications.

A well-informed committee is prepared to address emerging and ongoing forest stewardship issues at the state and national levels and to serve as a source of information and support for CWSF and the National Association of State Foresters (NASF). Bringing together the skills, talents, experience, and passion of western forestry professionals strengthens every state and helps them better serve the public.


Membership of the committee consists of a representative from those CWSF member states and Pacific Islands that have opted in. Appointments are made on a voluntary basis by western State Foresters.


The committee is led by a leadership team and rotates annually among member states to ensure the widest diversity of expertise and representation. The 2024 leadership team includes: 

  • Chair: Stew McMorrow (CA)
  • Vice Chair: Jonathan Sloan (WY)
  • Secretary: Matt Provencher (WA)
  • Past Chair: Vacant until 2024/2025
  • State Forester Advisor: Kelly Norris (WY)
  • CWSF Staff Liaison: Neil Simpson

Work Plan 

Each year, the committee produces a report for the CWSF Fall Meeting. This report highlights key accomplishments from the past year and a look at work for the year ahead. Recent reports are featured below:


If you wish to contact a member of the Forest Stewardship Program/Landowner Assistance Committee, please contact Neil Simpson